The 2012-13 season marked the 125th anniversary of America's oldest collegiate conference. Click on this site for stories highlighting outstanding student-athletes, coaches and teams from throughout the MIAA's rich and vast history. Click here for more.
 

Alma College

Official Alma Home Page | Alma Athletics Page

About Alma College

Alma College, a Phi Beta Kappa institution, is in its second century of quality undergraduate education. Academic excellence and a deep regard for students as individuals are fundamental to its programs. Alma's commitment to academics is not compromised by sports participation. One contributes to the other and through mutual support, the College is strengthened.

The College was founded in 1886 by Michigan Presbyterians. Although independent from the church, Alma retains an active relationship with the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). The attractive campus is located in the city of Alma (population approximately 10,000) at the center of Michigan's lower peninsula. Alma has an enrollment of 1,300 students.

The Alma College campus consists of 26 major buildings situated on 125 acres. The academic buildings are grouped conveniently around a central mall with residence and dining facilities on the periphery of the campus. The College also owns a nearby 200-acre site which has been developed as an outdoor laboratory for work in biology, geology, and ecology.

The Facts

Located: Alma, Michigan 48801
MIAA member: from spring of 1902 to date
Athletic Office phone:  (989) 463-7279
FAX: (989) 463-7018

Enrollment: 1,444
Colors: Maroon (PMS202) & Cream
Nickname: Scots

President:  Dr. Jeff Abernathy < abernathyj@alma.edu >
Athletic Director:  John Leister < leister@alma.edu >
Associate Athletic Director/Senior Woman Administrator   Sarah Dehring < dehringsm@alma.edu >
Assistant Athletic Director/Sports Information Director:  Mike Hanson < hanson@alma.edu >

Office: (989) 463-7114
FAX: (989) 463-7018

The Coaches

Baseball:  Scott Kingston < kingstonsc@alma.edu >
Men's Basketball:  Sam Hargraves < hargravessr@alma.edu >
Women's Basketball:    Kris Johnson
<  >
Cross Country:  Gordon Aldrich < aldrich@alma.edu >
Football:  Greg Pscodna < pscodnags@alma.edu >
Men's Golf:  Charles Goffnett
< goffnett@alma.edu >
Women's Golf:  Charles Goffnett < goffnett@alma.edu >
Men's Lacrosse: Jason Levesque < levesqueje@alma.edu >
Women's Lacrosse: Laurie Jordan < jordanlm@alma.edu >
Men's Soccer:  Josh Oakley < oakley@alma.edu >
Women's Soccer:  Jeff Hosler < hosler@alma.edu >
Softball:  Dennis Griffin < griffin@alma.edu >
Swimming:  Bill Copland < coplandwl@alma.edu >
Men's Tennis:  Chris Sandro < sandro@alma.edu>
Women's Tennis:  Brittany Miller < miller1bn@alma.edu >
Men's Track:  Gordon Aldrich < aldrich@alma.edu>
Women's Track:  Gordon Aldrich < aldrich@alma.edu>
Volleyball:  Sarah Dehring < dehringsm@alma.edu>
 
Athletic Trainer:  Brett Knight < knightbd@alma.edu >
Assistant Athletic Trainer:  Phillip Andre < andre@alma.edu >