The 2012-13 season marked the 125th anniversary of America's oldest collegiate conference. Click on this site for stories highlighting outstanding student-athletes, coaches and teams from throughout the MIAA's rich and vast history. Click here for more.
 

Olivet College

Official Olivet Home Page | Olivet Athletics Page

About Olivet College

Established in 1844, Olivet College is a private, liberal arts institution located in south central Michigan, between Battle Creek and Lansing. Olivet was one of the first institutions in America to admit women and minorities. The college is dedicated to its vision of Education for Individual and Social Responsibility, and remains true to its roots by providing a quality higher education to all, regardless of gender, race or financial means. Olivet College is home to more than 1,000 students, who study under The Olivet Plan. In this unique educational experience, students engage in both curricular and co-curricular programs that combine real world experiences with lectures and service learning.

Olivet College offers 28 programs leading to a bachelor of arts degree, a master of arts in teaching degree, and dual degree programs with two higher education institutions in Michigan. Olivet is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The college offers opportunities for students to get involved in more than 20 clubs and organizations. Approximately 40 percent of all Olivet students participate in athletics on a non-scholarship basis. Olivet consistently has one of the most diverse student populations of any private institution in Michigan. In a typical year, the student body includes 20 percent minority students and international students from 14 countries. All of this makes the campus community a microcosm of the world - an ideal place for learning to live and work in the global society of the 21st century.

The Facts

Location: Olivet, Michigan 49076
MIAA Member: from founding of league in 1888 to spring 1940; rejoined in fall of 1952
Athletic Office phone:  (269) 749-7601
FAX: (269) 749-7229

Enrollment: 1,145
Colors: Red (PMS187) & White
Nickname: Comets

President:  Dr. Steven Corey < scorey@olivetcollege.edu >
Director of Athletics: David Sichterman < dsichterman@olivetcollege.edu>
Assistant Athletic Director: Korey Heppeard < kheppeard@olivetcollege.edu >
Senior Woman Administrator: Sharonda Hurd < shurd@olivetcollege.edu >
Sports Information Director:  Geoff Henson < ghenson@olivetcollege.edu >

Office: (269) 749-7602
FAX: (269) 749-7170

The Coaches

Baseball: Ted Mahan < tmahan@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Basketball:  Chris Coles < ccoles@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Basketball:    Nicole Burford < nburford@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Cross Country:  Jeff Kavalunas < jkavalunas@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Cross Country:  Karen Lutzke < klutzke@olivetcollege.edu >
Football:  Dan Pifer < dpifer@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Golf:  Kevin Allard < kallard@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Golf:  Bill Maas < bmaas@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Lacrosse Adam Hague < ahague@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Lacrosse Mary Ann Meltzer < mmeltzer@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Soccer:  Dan Bulley < dbulley@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Soccer:  Hans Morgan < hmorgan@olivetcollege.edu >
Softball:  James Farnum < jfarnum@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Swimming & Diving:  Shea Davisson < sdavisson@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Swimming & Diving:  Shea Davisson < sdavisson@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Tennis: Andrew DeBruyn < adebruyn@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Tennis: Andrew DeBruyn < adebruyn@olivetcollege.edu >
Men's Track:  Justin Linzy < jlinzy@olivetcollege.edu >
Women's Track:  Justin Linzy < jlinzy@olivetcollege.edu >
Volleyball: Megan Merchant (Miller) < mjmiller@olivetcollege.edu>
Athletic Trainer:  Ryan Shockey < rshockey@olivetcollege.edu >
  Lauren Weikel < lweikel@olivetcollege.edu >
  Amanda Cox < acox@olivetcollege.edu >